Irene Ryan Report KCACTF Region V – January, 2009 Lawrence, Kansas

In general, the Irene Ryan Scholarship Auditions seemed to go without a major hitch. Although there were two new coordinators (Cory Johnson and Becky Foster), both were quick to pick up the duties of their positions and did outstanding work. Under the regional chair's recommendation, we had a semifinal round of 64 nominees, we moved from a Monday/Friday arrangement to one on Monday/Wednesday/Friday, and we only had two judges per preliminary round as opposed to three. All three changes were greatly for the better, as far as I'm concerned.

Having said that, goodness knows there are plenty of things I can do better, and it's my hope the chairs will continue to let me know those things if I continue in this position.

Some specifics...

Personnel

Cory Johnson checked royalties and did an extremely thorough job. Our only confusion was when language on the national website didn't match what should have been on the national website. That was straightened out just days before the Festival began.

The other new coordinator was Becky Foster who was in charge of room scheduling. She also did such a fantastic job of taking into account the sharing of partners that we had only a couple of Ryan nominees whose rooms we had to change on Monday morning. Unfortunately, Becky is moving to Seattle after this academic year.

We were assigned six stage managers for this event: three for semis and three for finals. I would prefer to have four for semis, especially now that we have two semifinal rooms, even if that meant having only two for finals. But all six were wonderful and picked up on their responsibilities at once.

Judges

| The following judges participated in the preliminary round: | |
|---|---|
| Kathryn Bentley | Southern Illinois University – Edwardsville |
| Patrick Carriere | Bemidji State |
| Beate Pettigrew | Johnson County Community College |
| David Wintersteen | Concordia College – Minnesota |
| Rick Anderson | Kirkwood Community College |
| Allyson Moon | Southwestern College |
| Paul Hustoles | Minnesota State University – Mankato |
| Priscilla Hagen | University of South Dakota |
| Ann Bergeron | University of Minnesota Duluth |
| Kristin Larson | Grand View University |
| | |

| Scott Glaser | University of Nebraska, Omaha |
|-------------------|--------------------------------|
| Ann Woldt | Simpson College |
| Theresa Mitchell | Emporia State University |
| John Wilson | University of Central Missouri |
| Karen Bohm Barker | Northwestern College |
| Nadine Schmidt | Southwest Minnesota State |

The SemiFinal judges were: Mindi Logan, Faye Price, Shelly Elmann and Jim Winter.

The Final judges were: John Carroll Lynch, John Lepard and Rayme Cornell. David Lee Painter was the judge for both the Classical Acting Award and the Musical Theatre Acting Award in the final round.

Schedule

The preliminary round was held Monday morning (with rounds beginning at 9:00, 10:00, 11:00 and 12:00). The 64 SemiFinalists were announced at 2:00. The preliminary round feedback session went from 6:00 to 10:00 Tuesday evening. The two SemiFinal rounds (running concurrently) went from 9:00 to 1:00 on Wednesday morning. The 16 Finalists (8 from each room) were announced at 4:45 that afternoon. The Final round occurred Friday night from 7:00 to 9:00, with the winners announced later that evening.

Some Numbers

There were 450 Ryan nominations from the region in 2009. Of those, 308 participated in the Festival auditions. We assigned the nominees to eight rooms, where two judges saw 12 nominees per hour. Four of those rooms had pianos and boomboxes.

Each room passed on exactly eight nominees, so there were 64 SemiFinalists. The four SemiFinal judges (two in each room) passed on exactly 16 nominees to the Finals.

11 nominees sang in the semifinal round. 9 nominees sang in the final round. 19 nominees performed classical material in the semifinal round. In the Final round, 12 nominees performed classical material.

Award Recipients

Best Scene Partner

Final Round: Michelle Moll – University of Central Missouri SemiFinal Round (Baustian): Kevin Kelly – University of South Dakota SemiFinal Round (Swarthout): Brandon Roberts – University of Minnesota Duluth

Musical Theatre Acting Award

Final Round: Jared Oxborough – Minnesota State University, Mankato SemiFinal Round (Baustian): Tyler Michaels – Minnesota State University, Moorhead SemiFinal Round (Swarthout): Andrew Umphrey – Minnesota State University, Mankato

Classical Acting Award

Final Round: Andrew Umphrey – Minnesota State University, Mankato SemiFinal Round (Baustian): Jason Francis – University of Nebraska at Lincoln SemiFinal Round (Swarthout): Matthew Crooks – University of Kansas

Irene Ryan Scholarship

Winner: Ashley Kobza – University of Nebraska at Kearney Winner: Peter Macy – University of Central Missouri 1st Alternate: Erik LaPointe – University of Kansas 2nd Alternate: Tyler Michaels – Minnesota State University, Moorhead